Leaping Before Looking for Almost 44 Years

4 Dec

satc

I have watched every episode of Sex and the City, probably more than once. Definitely more than once. Now that I live in a fancy house with a DVR, I can binge-watch many episodes in a row, though I wouldn’t suggest doing it after drinking a couple of mason jars full of red wine, yet, here we are.

I’ve analyzed the characters and tried to figure out with whom I most identified. I think, like most women, I’m a little of all four. I’m a little sassy and sexually liberated like Samantha (and who hasn’t had sex on a moving fire truck), I’m pragmatic and a little cynical like Miranda (and bartenders ARE fun), I’m a little dreamy-eyed when it comes to romance like Charlotte (and dust ruffles really are dumb), and like Carrie, I have fallen in love with a man who just wasn’t ever going to be what I needed him to be. I have done this more than once.

With that in mind, and in the spirit of the show, I can’t help but wonder, am I doomed to keep repeating the same mistakes over and over no matter how much work I think I’ve done on myself? Is this my cosmic fate?

My 12-year old son is reading a book called and the name escapes me now because wine and old age, but it is about a society that at first SOUNDS Utopian, but the more the book is read the more it is revealed to actually be a dystopian society. One of the key points in the book is that everything is very regulated and true love is not felt. People are matched with partners for marriage and everyone must take a pill to keep from experiencing love. My son recently asked me if I would choose to take a pill like that. I said absolutely not because sure it numbs the pain, but it numbs the other stuff too. the good stuff, and no amount of leaping into what turns out to be a giant pool void of water overshadows the good stuff. The good stuff is SO GOOD. Of course, I even more recently joked with my mom who knew my answer to my son that I would like to change my answer.

I am self-aware, almost to a fault. I have gone to therapy, I have read books, I have read blog posts, I am all about claiming my baggage, sitting down to dinner with my feelings, taking a dip in lake Amy (that’s me), and working on my part in any situation, learning, and moving on. I’m cute, I’m hilarious, I am good enough, I am smart enough, and gosh darnit, people like me.  I have an open mind, I’m not bitter, I go all in, I love big and that is probably part of my issue. I have been known to leap before looking. More than once. And dammit if that doesn’t hurt like hell.

I have no idea what the future holds, but I won’t stop leaping, and even though I’ve dated, that is, gone on more than one date with, a total of two people in the several years that I have been divorced from the boys’ dad, I hope the boys see me as a woman who is not bitter and who is pretty awesome and who is at least jumping in. Because the jump is worth the fall, and I don’t want them to ever think it’s not. And MAYBE,  I will jump and fall on top of somebody. This got dark. I blame the wine.

6 Responses to “Leaping Before Looking for Almost 44 Years”

  1. datinginvegas December 5, 2013 at 2:42 am #

    YAY for always leaping! I was just talking to my brother about this. He is heartbroken and swearing off love. I told him love is GREAT…it’s heartache that sucks but you can’t have one without the possibility of the other. It’s worth the risk. Here’s to never stopping a leap oh and to wine too.

    • Amy December 8, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      Yeah, honestly, I go back and forth, but mostly I stand firmly on the side of leaping.The good stuff is just too good. And I always stand on the side of wine 🙂

  2. Jazz Cookie December 5, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    Amen to everything. One of my favorite quotations is “Love does not make the world go ’round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile.” (Franklin P. Jones, I think.) And it does. I’m crazy in love right this minute and about to take some big risks with a move to a place I’ve never been and I’m not a kid anymore. But he loves me, so it feels fine. And dandy. My own kid, all grown up, thinks it’s great for me. The alternative to love and loving all the way is pretty damned bleak. I wish for you a wonderfully “cushiony” guy with a big heart to land on and I mean that in a good way.

    • Amy December 8, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

      So happy to see your face! You threw me with the Jazz Cookie, but I love it, and I love you. Your comment made my heart absolutely sing. I wish you absolutely nothing but all the happiness in the world, and I had you figured for a “leaper” too. Big big hugs and love to you. I hope to hear about your new adventure!!

  3. Deech78259 December 5, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

    I commend your strength of character. You are a good soul and unfortunately, it seems that these days the good ones are the ones that get hurt the most. Keep the faith chica….just keep the faith.

    • Amy December 8, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

      Thank you, and you will always be Joker to me 🙂 xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

