Next Stop, the World

30 Sep

world

 

Well, I did it. Thanks to my efforts,  Marissa Alexander will be receiving a new trial.  Next, I’ll work on getting the mandatory minimums reformed so that nobody has to deal with what she did ever again, then I’ll move on to solve the problem of homelessness, then world hunger, then I’ll grab my Nobel Peace Prize, write my memoirs, and retire to Greece.

In all seriousness, this news is sanfrantastic and I am thrilled.  I REALLY hope that the State of Florida gets it right this time. What would be even BETTER is if the State chose to drop all charges. The state has until October 16 to re-file the charges against her and now the push is on to convince them to do just that BUT, if you know anything about Florida at all, you might know a little something about Angela Corey, the state attorney. This woman is the gift that keeps on giving.  I could make a joke about her being born on Halloween, a day that is tied closely to horror, but I am a lady dammit, and won’t stoop to such things. Plus, I love Halloween and don’t want to sully it by tying her to one of my favorite days.

If I’m mincing my words here, let me be clear. I do not like Angela Corey.  I feel that she is overzealous and has a personal agenda that I can only assume includes higher political aspirations. I don’t want to get into the Zimmerman thing, but her handling of that case is being called into question on many levels.

BUT HEY, I have not come to bash Angela Corey, I am here to celebrate what is essentially good news regarding Marissa Alexander! This is from a press release sent out by Marissa’s lawyers the day the new trial was announced, September 26, 2013 –

Marissa was informed of the reversal of her conviction early this afternoon. Marissa expressed her gratitude for today’s decision as well as her continued confidence in the judicial system’s ability to correct mistakes. Marissa also wanted to thank those who have offered their support and prayers during her incarceration. Finally, Marissa expressed her desire to be back with her children and family.

THIS amazes me. Every time I have corresponded with Marissa, I am struck by how she never lost faith in the system. I cannot imagine I would feel the same. I have lost faith in just about everything, as we sit on the cusp of our government grinding to a halt because of stubbornness and the inability to compromise and as Dr. Phil would say “a bunch of RIGHT FIGHTERS”.

I am happy to be a part of something greater than myself, and thrilled that as one person on the Free Marissa Alexander Facebook page said “a lot of tiny raindrops make up a great thunderstorm”. Proud to be a part of the thunderstorm. It gives me much-needed hope.

marrissa-alexander

6 Responses to “Next Stop, the World”

  1. donofalltrades September 30, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

    I’m not supposed to say this as an attorney or police officer, but I find the system to be far from perfect! Far far far!

  2. Miss Molly September 30, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

    Brava, girl! This is about more than Marissa. Anytime someone like you leads the good fight, a lot of people win…You’ve inspired us all.

    Note to Don – If you are an attorney or police officer, I think you are exactly the kind of person who IS supposed to speak up about the system.

  3. bensbitterblog September 30, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

    Since you have such influence, I’m gonna need you to go out in the Florida sun and promote my blog and all of a sudden I will be famous. And I will get the word out for your causes.

  4. datinginvegas October 6, 2013 at 4:49 am #

    I am so inspired..Thank you for sharing

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What the Hell? Government Edition | Memoirs of a Mom Who Ticks - October 15, 2013

    […] So many of you have said that you would love to help if you could, well now is your chance.  As I wrote a few weeks ago, Marissa Alexander has been granted a new trial which is great news! However, a letter-writing […]

  2. What the Hell? Government Edition | - October 15, 2013

    […] So many of you have said that you would love to help if you could, well now is your chance.  As I wrote a few weeks ago, Marissa Alexander has been granted a new trial which is great news! However, a letter-writing […]

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

