Step Off, Weiner

23 Jul

I had planned to write a “What the Hell” post about Anthony Weiner, but really, what more is there to say except WHAT THE HELL, MAN? CARLOS DANGER?  Please, just stop. Step away from the public eye, then you can get on the internet and/or Twitter and go crazy with the sexting that you kids are so into these days. I don’t want to read about your weiner in any way and I’m annoyed that I feel the need to write about it, so just go away and stop doing stupid shit. I have very little self-control and I have more important stuff to write and read about. Thanks.

On that note, I have had such positive responses to the posts I have written about mandatory minimum reform and specifically, the Marissa Alexander case.  I have read your comments and even though I have not had a chance to respond to all of them, I greatly appreciate them.

When I first read about Marissa Alexander’s case, I was incredulous that such a thing actually happened. I researched and found that not only had it happened to her, it has happened to other citizens of Florida as well (and other states, but as a citizen of Florida, that was my focus). As a fellow mom, Marissa’s case in particular hit a nerve with me. I wrote her to offer my support and let her know that she was not alone and that nobody would forget about her. She wrote me back and I was struck by her response, and each response since then. She has not lost faith, in the system, or in the ability of people to change things for the better.

Today I had the opportunity to ask a question that has been plaguing me since I decided I wanted to get involved in trying to change the mandatory minimum statutes.  Greg Newburn, Project Director for Families Against Mandatory Minimums Florida, hosted a one hour question and answer session on Facebook and I got the chance to ask him just what the hell I could do to help. Here is his answer  –

Thank you, Amy! Humbly, I think the best way to get the statutes changed is to support our efforts at FAMM. Make sure everyone you talk to goes to our website, follows us on Twitter and “likes” us here on Facebook. The more people we reach, the better our chances of success. We’ve been working very hard to get this issue in front of the legislature, and we won’t quit until a good reform is passed and signed by the Governor. Keep up the great work! (And we will, too.)

I am a good listener, so that is what I am doing.

Also, I heard that rallies were being organized for cities all over the country to take place on September 14, which is Marissa’s birthday. I was SO hoping I could make a powerful sign and just show up and have my voice be heard, but it looks like there isn’t a rally organized in Florida, SO, I’ll be organizing it. I have no idea what I’m doing, but I will be looking into pulling permits and I have the best damn meeting planner in the world helping me (my sister) and a lot of supportive friends and family. This issue is hugely important to me and I know it is NOT necessarily important to everyone, but, as my friend Cheri said, I will keep talking, even if nobody listens, I will keep talking. My mother, and everybody who has ever met me, can attest to that fact, for better or worse.

I know this has been a very Amy-centric post, but I have not forgotten for one second that this is about Marissa, and Ronald, and Orville, and Todd, and every single person affected by the mandatory minimum statutes, including babies being raised without their moms or dads and parents having to face each day without their child.   This is my blog, so I am expressing my angst at organizing the rally, but, I am excited to be doing it.

Here is a link to the rallies. If you want to attend or organize, please get in touch with them and let them know so they can add you to the list. Here is the link for the “support for Marissa Alexander” Facebook page.

marissa

Thank you, as always, for reading. I will write about the insanity that is Miley Cyrus’s half sweatpants, half jeans abominations and the joys of being relatively comfortable in my plus size body sometime again soon. I promise.

 

 

4 Responses to “Step Off, Weiner”

  1. kerbey July 23, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    You have just ruined my night. I should be watching “America’s Got Talent” and instead I’m reading the cases of these poor people who did the right thing and got screwed by Florida’s system. This is bull#$%. I am incensed! This crap would not fly here in Texas. I can’t believe Marissa’s life is ruined. She would have been better off just murdering him entirely.

  2. kerbey July 23, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

    Reblogged this on I Don't Get It and commented:
    Well, now I’m angry, and I want you all to be angry with me. Shooting a warning gunshot into the ground to save a friend’s life is not a reason to serve 20 yrs in jail. Dang, Florida!!

  3. bensbitterblog July 24, 2013 at 2:05 am #

    When does the Miley Cyrus career end again?

  4. Joker July 30, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    If nothing else, I will certainly not look to Florida for retirement…..

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

