What the Hell? Paula Deen Edition

27 Jun

pauladeen

I am a Southern woman. I was born in Alabama and grew up in Florida.  I grew up reading Gone with the Wind, eating grits, and knowing full well the ugly history of the South. I grew up in a house that was not racist, but I certainly grew up around racism. I saw it. I heard it. I remember it permeating bits of my childhood from talking with my second grade teacher Mrs. Cooper about her baby girl who was due soon and her telling me that my suggestion of Natalie for a name was “a black person’s name” to hearing  my classmates discuss why the president of my senior class won the election (well only because the black kids outnumbered the white kids). No, it couldn’t have been because Michael, the guy who won, was charismatic, smart, funny, attractive, etc. All of those things that he WAS. Couldn’t have been because of those reasons.

Hearing this week that Paula Deen tells racist (and anti-Semitic, and homophobic, and hell, redneck) jokes does not surprise me.  Nor does hearing that she ALLEGEDLY really wants to have a true Southern wedding. What does that mean, you wonder?  “Well what I would really like is a bunch of little n—-rs to wear long-sleeve white shirts, black shorts, and black bow-ties, you know in the Shirley Temple days, they used to tap dance around, we can’t do that because the media would be on me about that”.  I will say that in the deposition, Deen opposed the use of the N-Word in this instance. The rest is allegedly true, though.

This all DOES sadden me, however, because I really WANT us to be past this. I really want the term “politically correct” to not exist, or to not NEED to exist I guess. I think that term was thought up as a sort of fake way of saying “hey see, let’s all be gender-neutral and non-racist and play nice with each other because that’s what we’re SUPPOSED to do” and yes, we ARE supposed to do it, but because it’s the right way to treat fellow human beings, not because we’re trying to get re-elected, or trying to make our way into a celestial afterlife, or because it’s bad for your image.

To all of those people who feel the need to be outraged and boycott the Food Network and Wal-Mart for severing ties with her, those organizations, and the other ones, have every right to not want their products endorsed by someone they deem unworthy, just as you have a right to be mad about that fact and watch another food related channel and  haul your ass to Target.  Were you just as outraged when Tiger Woods lost his endorsements for infidelity? Or do you only vehemently shake your fist and talk about how ridiculous it is that someone was kicked off their gravy train for their actions when it involves defending racist remarks? I thought so.

It’s cool, everybody has their own moral compass. Hey, we are making strides, we have a bi-racial president! We as a society, are less racist than we used to be , but of course when an absolutely precious commercial that features a mixed race couple and their bi-racial daughter is met with racist comments, I am reminded that we still have work to do. Call me an idealist, I’m okay with that, but why can’t people be concerned with themselves and have respect for others and  let people love who they want to love and be who they want to be? There is no good excuse for hatred. I know it is born of fear, but come on, educate yourself.

The fact is, the history of the South is so ugly, and so ridiculous, it seems like it has to be made up, but it is not, and while Deen’s desire to have a historically accurate wedding is ludicrous, I find it even more ludicrous that she doesn’t seem to GET why that time in history is not something to be celebrated. How can you live in the world for 60 some odd years and not realize how hurtful and shameful that time was in Southern history?  Claiming ownership of another person because of skin color…Yes, let’s highlight that horrible time in history on this most special of days, our wedding day. Oh wait, the media would have a field day with that. Too bad, it was SUCH a good idea otherwise.  I guess I’ll just continue to plan my holocaust-themed birthday party. I just need to find GIANT gas chambers.

I don’t think Paula Deen is evil. Not by any means. I think she is ignorant as hell, and whoever told her to go on the Today show and fake cry while playing the victim should certainly be fired, but I don’t think she is malicious. I also think she will be just fine and no tears need be shed for her.

We should never forget our history, even the ugly parts, but to want to CELEBRATE those ugly parts  is dumb, and hurtful, and smacks of an inability to realize the gravity of an awful time in American history, and yes, it certainly comes off as racist.

5 Responses to “What the Hell? Paula Deen Edition”

  1. Joker June 27, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    This was an excellent Post. And you covered the main base that I needed you to cover. The fact that Paula Deen is ignorant. I am trying to follow in the footsteps of one of my heros of today. Mr. Morgan Freeman. In an interview…that you can see on YouTube by the way. He basically says when asked by Mike Wallace about Black History Month, “Well Mike, How do you like White History Month?” This flabbergasted Mike Wallace. Basically what Morgan Freeman was getting at was, that as long as we celebrate any culture, race or creed, there will be racism and Bigotry. It’s a higher level of thinking and I agree with it. Paula Dean should not have gotten fired because she is racist. She should have gotten fired because of her backwards ass way of thinking. And in order to stamp out this Backwards ass way of thinking, this Joker believes that we just have to stop referring to people by their color. Barak Obama is our President….not our Black President.

    • Amy July 1, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

      Thanks so much for dropping by and reading, dear Joker. xoxo

      • Joker July 12, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

        Oh, I so have to catch up with your blog. For this I truly apologize. Not to you, but to me. I am the one missing out. Good quality writing. This blog is a gem amongst all the mediocrity that is the internet.

  2. desertdweller29 June 27, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    Couldn’t agree more…

    • Amy July 1, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

      Thanks, as always, for reading!

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

