Yay, Awards! And Some of my Favorite Blogs

19 Jun

oscar

I have been meaning to write this post for months, but, and I am sure this will surprise no-one, I am a flake. In case you doubt that, let me relay some scattered fragments of thoughts I have found in the notes section of my phone where I usually jot down ideas running through my head that I may want to write about some day. Please read, and be afraid.

I have given pieces of myself to so many
I have shattered my walls
What the hell does this even MEAN? Did I even write this? Is this from a Taylor Swift song? I have no idea, but it’s over-dramatic and stupid and I have no idea what prompted me to write it.
My sister dated the rock stars,the guys in bands. I dated the light guy. Do you know how hard it is to be a groupie for a light guy? “BABY, you are a LIGHTING GOD. When you pushed that button and made the yellow light come on, then the blue one and made green? CHILLBUMPS.”
Okay, this is hilarious, AND TRUE, but how I thought I would suss this out into a whole blog post is beyond me.
“She seemed very beautiful, she seemed very nice.” “How can you tell that someone is nice just by how they look?”
If there is one shining moment in my history of parenting it will be this sentence uttered by my 12 year old son this past weekend.

That and when my then 7 year old son asked during the Lion King if the voice of Scar was David Bowie.

Yeah, again, I don’t know.My point of sharing these with you is to make you realize just the kind of insanity that you’re dealing with, and to apologize to all of you who have been so kind to give my blog awards. I appreciate each and every one of them and I have not been able to write just how much I appreciate them because I am busy pretending to be an angsty twenty-something, an aging lighting groupie, and a mom who is pretty easily impressed but cannot remember details.I am going to do my very best to list those who gave me the awards. I HIGHLY recommend everyone I follow. I honestly follow so many awesome blogs that I find myself getting really behind in reading all of the posts. I went through tonight and have almost caught up. You guys are too good.I will list here and hopefully sometime in the very near future I will put the actual award badges on my blog and maybe even do the stuff that you’re SUPPOSED to do when you get one of these.  I think some of them have requirements to fulfill, but I will not be sending any naked pictures to anyone as recipient of the “over 40 and still fat” award. In the words of George W. Bush, “There’s an old saying in Tennessee — I know it’s in Texas, probably in Tennessee — that says, fool me once, shame on — shame on you. Fool me — you can’t get fooled again.”  Turns out that award doesn’t even exist and now my pictures are on commercials as the “before” picture, and I didn’t even get paid…(This is humor and so not true. Don’t panic, mom).
 
 MommyVerbs –  Bestowed the “Inspiring Blog award” to me and I am so pleased she did. She is so great and she has three simple rules that she tries to live by – eat well, play more, choose happy. How can you not love her?

ADignorantium – I was nominated for the “Inspiring Blogger Award” by another favorite of mine who called my blog “stream of consciousness”, which is true. In contrast, his blog is not only “stream of consciousness”, it is an “ocean of awesomeness”. He has so many cool things, and funny writing, and serious writing, and good stuff on his blog. Check him out.

The Grimm Report – This blog is so clever and so much fun to read. They feature stories based on fairy tales and folklore.  Some of their posts are about the discovery of a mysterious 8th dwarf and news of the owl and pussycat marrying in Vegas.They nominated me for the “Super Sweet Blogger Award”.

Mollytopia –  Not an AWARD, exactly, but she digs me…and I dig her…and we’re going to don mermaid tails and swim around together someday.

Speaking of DON,  Don of all trades, is a funny dad with lots of hilarious stories, and sometimes, he throws in some heart-wrenching ones, just to keep you off balance. He deserves a mention.

Four eyed gals unite! Miss Four Eyes is so much more than a pair of glasses. She’s hilarious and her observations on life are refreshing.

Mom in the Muddle – This lady is so cool and fun to read and her pictures are even neat!

I am lucky to get to read Lucky Wreck. Her writing can be funny, or poignant, and it is always a pleasure to read.

AND…I cannot leave out Ben,  or he will become even MORE bitter, and nobody wants that.

I really and truly am tickled that anybody reads what I write and I know I am going to be doing at least a part 2 as I discover more blogs that I love. I may not be the best at  accepting awards, but I really do appreciate them and I thank all of you for indulging my extreme narcissism by reading and following my blog.

13 Responses to “Yay, Awards! And Some of my Favorite Blogs”

  1. donofalltrades June 19, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    Aw, thanks, Amy, you’re too sweet. Please though, for the love of God….GO SEE THE GODFATHER!!!!

    • Amy June 24, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      I’m sorry, Don, I’m afraid I can’t do that. I HAVE seen 2001: A Space Odyssey though, so hopefully you said that in a creepy Hal voice.

  2. adignorantium June 19, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

    Thank you, Amy! So glad I’m not the only one who leaves cryptic notes everywhere. ;p

    • Amy June 24, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

      I’m so glad I’M not the only one! I have found more that I will try to decipher at some point.

  3. bensbitterblog June 20, 2013 at 1:09 am #

    I love how I always get thrown in a the end of posts. People are worried about me getting bitter, when they clearly know that I will be bitter whether you mention me or not.

    • Amy June 24, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

      Awww Ben…you were not an after thought, promise. It’s just a cheap comedy gag, and cheap comedy is all I can afford.

      • bensbitterblog June 25, 2013 at 12:32 am #

        I know it wasn’t. Just my bitter sarcasm coming out.

  4. muddledmom June 20, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    Thanks for the shoutout. So funny that you mentioned my pictures. Sometimes I think they are so cheeseball but I run them anyway.

    I love your blog. One of my faves.

    • Amy June 24, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

      I love your pictures! I think they are awesome!!

  5. MommyVerbs June 22, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

    You are so awesome! Thanks for the love! I just adore you! I don’t know what I am doing wrong, but I’ve let my life get crazy busy lately…so, come on summertime…just trying to keep up! 🙂

    • Amy June 24, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

      I totally understand! Summer has turned out to be pretty much as crazy as the rest of the year! Here’s hoping to things settling down soon!! 😉

  6. peacelovegreatcountrymusic June 27, 2013 at 2:06 am #

    Your blog is so fantastic and good and smart and relevant, you should be getting awards. I am a serious award lover, I love getting them. The best part is knowing that I get to turn around and pick blogs to promote that I think people should see. You do a great job.

    • Amy June 27, 2013 at 9:17 am #

      My goodness, you are adding fuel to my already overinflated and delusional sense of self…and I love you for it. Thanks again!!!

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

