A Trippy Fathers’ Day Post, Man

16 Jun

willywonka

Way back in the early 2000’s, I greeted with great trepidation and fear the news that Tim Burton was going to be remaking Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. The original had its flaws, of course, but I loved it, and I didn’t think I had room in my life for another Willy Wonka.  Gene Wilder WAS Willy Wonka for me. End of story.

When I begrudgingly saw Burton’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory in 2005, I didn’t see a remake. I didn’t see a movie I had seen hundreds of times before. I hardly recognized Johnny Depp’s Willy Wonka , but I LOVED HIM.  I saw this movie as a totally different entity, and I found I had more than enough room for both Willy Wonkas in my heart and my life.

Why in the hell am I going on about Willy Wonka and calling it a fathers’ day post?  Besides the fact that obviously I need to up my meds and/or eat some chocolate, I started thinking about these films as a metaphor for the way I feel about  my late father and Joe, the man in my mom’s life, and all of ours,  for the past many years.

My dad is my dad. Nobody is going to replace my dad in my life. I share stories about him with the boys and we all laugh about them because he was a true one of a kind.  He will always be my dad and even though they never met him, he will always be my boys’ Pop Pop.

Joe is my boys’ Poppa. He has stepped into the role of their grandfather and as my step dad, whether he wanted it or not (I hope he wanted it because there is no backing out now). His family became our family and ours became his. He is a true one of a kind as well.

My life is brighter and more colorful thanks to crazy men I have known in my childhood and adulthood. I’ll let you decide if I’m talking about the movies here or Dad and Joe.

I love you Dad and I love you Joe, and Wonkas’, thanks for letting me into your factories. They are groovy and I adore both of them.

 

Pure imagination from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

Hold your breath
Make a wish
Count to three

Come with me
And you’ll be
In a world of
Pure imagination
Take a look
And you’ll see
Into your imagination

We’ll begin
With a spin
Traveling in
The world of my creation
What we’ll see
Will defy
Explanation

If you want to view paradise
Simply look around and view it
Anything you want to, do it
Wanta change the world?
There’s nothing
To it

There is no
Life I know
To compare with
Pure imagination
Living there
You’ll be free
If you truly wish to be

If you want to view paradise
Simply look around and view it
Anything you want to, do it
Wanta change the world?
There’s nothing
To it

There is no
Life I know
To compare with
Pure imagination
Living there
You’ll be free
If you truly
Wish to be

*Picture credit timewithtom.com

5 Responses to “A Trippy Fathers’ Day Post, Man”

  1. bensbitterblog June 16, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    Your dads sound awesome. How cool would it be to have Willy Wonka as a father?

    • Amy June 24, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

      It would be kind of AWESOME to have Willy Wonka as a father, and to run around in the chocolate factory, though I would probably go the way of Augustus Glut and fall into that chocolate river because CHOCOLATE RIVER.

      • bensbitterblog June 25, 2013 at 12:34 am #

        Mine would be a pizza merry-go-round.

  2. Miss Molly June 16, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Really nice…

    I liked both the Wonka guys…

    • Amy June 24, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      Me too! Both so different, but both so awesome. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

