Let’s Watch TV! Sort of

16 May

tv

I don’t watch a lot of TV, and I am saying that in a very matter of fact way, not an “I don’t even WATCH TV” way, rather more of a “when I’m not arguing playing with my children, writing, or playing Candy Crush Saga, I still prefer to read or play more Candy Crush Saga over watching Stars Dancing or Diving or whatever it is Stars are doing on TV these days” kind of way.

I do have definite ideas about what shows are about though, because for someone who doesn’t watch a lot of TV, I seem to recall seeing a lot of commercials for TV programs, PLUS, you can’t swing a cat on the internet without hitting threads and posts filled to the brim with TV stuff.

SO, here are my thoughts about some shows that the rest of you non-Candy Crush Saga people are apparently watching. Mind you, I am aware that I may be way off in my estimation of what these shows are about. That won’t stop me from thinking I’m right anyway. I am an American, dammit.

The Office – This show is STILL ON?

How I Met Your Mother – In real life the kids left ages ago saying “fuck it dad.We really don’t care. We just wanted to borrow the car”.

Supernatural, The Vampire Diaries, Grimm –  Good looking people battling…stuff. Creatures and whatnot.

Doctor Who – From what I gather some guy travels through space and time banging everything he can get his hands on.  Watched it when it was Doctor-who-logo-ninefirst on and called STAR TREK.

Grey’s Anatomy – I read something about an upcoming bus accident affecting Grey’s Anatomy like no other tragedy, and there has been EVERY OTHER TRAGEDY IMAGINABLE.  Have a meteor fall on the hospital and let’s be done with this, shall we?

Game of Thrones –  Sex, violence, dragons,  and Peter Dinklage. This one actually sounds pretty awesome.

The Big Bang Theory –  A show that supposedly celebrates nerd culture but, in fact, makes fun of it. That one time I saw this show while recovering from surgery led me to believe that, anyway.

Hawaii Five-O – Remake of the show that used to have that guy with the hair that stars the son of that one guy from the movie I watched that time with my dad.

Two and a Half Men – OH for goodness sake. Pull the plug.

Downton Abbey – White people behaving badly.

Lost-season1Lost – I know it’s not on anymore but I’m bitter.  I watched so much of this series until I realized I just didn’t care anymore. Yes, that was it. Not that I didn’t understand anything after the plane actually crashed on the island.

See? I’m not missing much by not watching these shows. They all stink anyway or were so confusing that several years later I am still angry.

18 Responses to “Let’s Watch TV! Sort of”

  1. bensbitterblog May 16, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

    I seriously want to know who watches 2 and 1/2 men so I can come to their house and beat them with a bitter stick.

    • Courtney May 16, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

      AGREED. I’ve never actually met a person who watches it. WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE?! Or maybe they surround us all the time, they are just too embarrassed to admit they watch it. And rightfully so.

      • bensbitterblog May 16, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

        I would be embarrased too. I think their key demographic is old people falling asleep on after the 6:00 pm news and weren’t able to change the channel or people that don’t know how to work a remote.

      • Amy May 21, 2013 at 9:27 am #

        I don’t know who these people are either but obviously they walk among us because the show is popular…scary.

    • Amy May 21, 2013 at 9:33 am #

      Let’s find them, Ben!!! BITTER STICKS FOR ALL!

      • bensbitterblog May 21, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

        I was beaten by one when I was young(1 day old), why shouldn’t others get them.

  2. donofalltrades May 16, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Your The Office summation is what I’d have used for How I Met Your Mother too! What is this Candy Crush I keep being inundated with?

    • Amy May 21, 2013 at 9:33 am #

      I know, me too.

      Candy Crush Saga is an app, a game, a game app. It’s a game I play on my phone, and you can play it on Facebook too. It’s addicting even though I’m stuck on a level and it is really terribly annoying.

  3. Amber Perea May 16, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    Game of thrones is awesome. Just sayin’ 🙂

    • Amy May 21, 2013 at 9:30 am #

      I really want to check out that show!

      • Amber Perea May 21, 2013 at 11:06 am #

        Do it! But when the kids sleep because its impossible to follow if you aren’t paying close attention. So worth it though!

      • Amy May 21, 2013 at 11:12 am #

        I will! I will find it and I will watch it and then we can discuss.

  4. Courtney May 16, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

    New Girl- have you not seen New Girl!? Amazeballs. Probably one of my favorite shows ever!

    • Amy May 21, 2013 at 9:28 am #

      I LOVE New Girl! When I can remember to watch it (I don’t have a DVR. It’s like I’m some kind of caveman) I really enjoy it and yes, AMAZEBALLS for sure!

      • Courtney May 21, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

        Haha well I’m kinda caveman-ish too because I don’t even have cable. I catch up on my shows on Hulu and Netflix 😀

  5. ronman1 May 17, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    You mean TV is for more than just checking the weather radar? I use it for this so I don’t use any of my cellphone battery before leaving for work. Remember the good ol’ days when TVs were useful? I mean they were big enough to put your mail and keys on. Not to mention your hat or photos.

    • Amy May 21, 2013 at 9:26 am #

      Ron, excellent observations and YES, I do remember those days! Always nice to see you around! I am heading to your blog soon to comment over there. I have really enjoyed your posts lately. xoxo

  6. datinginvegas May 21, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    Game of Thrones is my show! I don’t really watch tv shows unless they have sex, violence and dragons.

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

