Suck It, Icky Abercrombie & Fitch CEO

8 May

Let me start by saying I have never stepped foot in an Abercrombie & Fitch. I can imagine  it is just like this –

Dumb relatively attractive vain  scantily clad self-absorbed employees selling clothes that I can only assume appeal to some faction of the population that does not include me. It’s cool.  I have never had the desire to shop there, in fact. Why IS that I wonder?

I have heard a lot of chatter on the interwebs today about Abercrombie & Fitch sizes not extending beyond size 10.

So that’s it.

But I just read this quote from Mike Jeffries, CEO of Abercrombie & Fitch that refers to the kind of people he wants wearing his brand-

“We go after the attractive all-American kid with a great attitude and a lot of friends. A lot of people don’t belong [in our clothes], and they can’t belong. Are we exclusionary? Absolutely.”

Well,what does that have to do with size 10 and under? That is not exclusionary to me. I am an American.  I’ve got a great attitude and a lot of friends. Granted, I am probably 30 years outside of Abercrombie & Fitch’s target market but goodness knows I’m sure the good people at Forever 21 don’t have a 43 year old overweight divorced mother of two in mind for their stores, but that doesn’t mean I don’t shop there anyway.  Granted, their clothes do fit me. Okay, they make them in sizes that fit me. Some of them. Fine, mostly I go there for accessories. Necklaces and earrings are equal opportunity fashion pieces.

Maybe this quote, from Robin Lewis, a retail industry analyst and co-author of The New Rules of Retail, will explain it. Lewis says Jeffries  “doesn’t  want larger people shopping in his store, he wants thin and beautiful people” and wants “people who wear his clothing (to) feel like they’re one of the ‘cool kids”.

OH, I get it. Jeffries’ head might explode (actually, after seeing his picture, it may already have) but  I have to inform him that I WAS and shall always be a “cool kid” and I have jeffriesalways been overweight.  The two are not mutually exclusive.

The fact that he cannot even IMAGINE that a “cool kid” would equal someone who is not larger than a size 10 is rather sad.

I can only hope that younger overweight people who have read these quotes realize that they don’t need some douchey CEO to dictate to them the definition of “cool”.  OWN IT my sisters and brothers. BE fabulous.

I honestly don’t give a shit that he has chosen to cater to one tiny (HA! A pun)  bit of the population. That’s fine. Like I said, this is America. There are stores that sell only sizes 16 and up. Being a jerk sucks but clearly, working out the scars that were left by his no doubt tragic childhood from being excluded by those size 10 and under “cool kids” is important, so there, there. Those mean old skinny kids can’t hurt you anymore, Mikey. You’ll show them who’s cool.  They’ll all want to wear your clothes now.  Let it all out. And maybe lay off the botox.

 

Picture courtesy of ABC News

12 Responses to “Suck It, Icky Abercrombie & Fitch CEO”

  1. Courtney May 9, 2013 at 12:04 am #

    I am disgusted by Jeffries’ quote. What the hell?! Even if that is the goal of your store, I can’t believe someone would say it out loud. Gross. Glad I never shopped there as a kid…I couldn’t fit in their sizes and my parents would have never paid for a $40 plain, boring t-shirt. I’m excited to raise my kids someday to learn the value of thrift stores!! 😀

    • Amy May 9, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

      I totally agree with you. I don’t for a second think that he is the only CEO to think this way. Having an air of exclusivity to your brand is not a bad thing, especially when you have the stones to charge $40 for a t-shirt, but yes, don’t vocalize that sentiment. It’s harmful to others and just plain nasty.

      Absolutely! I still wear clothes from the thrift store and the boys do too.

  2. MommyVerbs May 9, 2013 at 10:54 am #

    Oh. I cannot tell you how glad I am that you wrote this. I started a post like it yesterday and then stopped because I couldn’t bare his pathetic creepiness to live on my bloggy planet. But it needed to be said and you said what I was thinking … Only better! Thanks!!

    • Amy May 9, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

      Yeah, I honestly debated including his picture in the post!

      Thank you! Sorry it had to be said but yes…it had to be said.

  3. MissFourEyes May 9, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    I can’t believe he would actually say that out loud. What about bad press? What if the ‘cool kids’ decide they are offended too?

    • Amy May 9, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

      Exactly! I really do hope that happens. We shall see.

      Thanks for reading!

  4. bensbitterblog May 9, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    First thing is that you can’t hear when you walk in because of the German techno they play and second, a 3XL would barely fit my 5 year old. I don’t know that the CEO could even fit into their clothes.

    • Amy May 10, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

      HAA! Love your description. Hate the store.

  5. Tina May 14, 2013 at 1:15 am #

    Only one thought popped into my mind (actually a lot of thoughts came to me but this one spoke the loudest) is that this guy is an elitist dickhead. You think your customers are so superior that you are deliberately NOT going to make clothes that go higher than a ten? Only people sized ten and under make up the cool crowd? What about the skinny nerd girl who loves to read books all day. Is she cool enough to rock your oh so fab clothes? Give me a break.

    • Amy May 14, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

      Preach sister. I hear you and I know, this guy is awful. Just awful. Thanks for reading 🙂

  6. adignorantium May 21, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    And that Mike Jeffries certainly is a hottie…lolz!!
    omg, the poor guy looks like he was French kissed by a train!
    Not that I’m any better looking, but come on.
    I almost feel sorry for him. He must be very lonely.

    • Amy May 23, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

      He is quite the looker. QUITE. Blech. Always nice to see your little yellow avi (I’m a HUGE Simpsons fan from WAY back – back when they were still on the Tracey Ullman show).

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

