Boxes are Fun

4 May

Boxes, or those parameters we either keep ourselves in or that others make for us, are not fun. My title is a big lie just to suck you in to reading this post. It totally worked, by the way, because here you are.

What do I mean by parameters or boxes?

I think of myself primarily as a funny person. That is how I identify myself, first and foremost. Most of what I write is humorous in nature, I think and hope anyway. My style of writing is conversational and I write exactly how I talk, for better or worse.

I have been comfortable with that style of writing, and I will more than likely always write about silly crap like my dislike for Gwyneth Paltrow (she really is the worst) and my disdain for Mumford & Sons (a banjo killed my father. There. I said it).  That is one box in which I am very comfortable.

I also feel passionate about some issues that are serious, and that I cannot joke through, or about. I have written about a couple of them on this blog. I feel the need to write about these issues because first of all I feel strongly about them and second of all, the kind of discussion that arose from the post I wrote yesterday makes me extremely uncomfortable.  I hate conflict. At this very moment I want to scream “GET OFF MY BLOG” at the top of my lungs to anyone who is continuing to lurk in the comments section, BUT, I won’t stop writing about these issues because I think it is vital for me to continue to be uncomfortable in this way.

The conflict box is one that I am not totally comfortable being in as of yet, but I think it is extremely important to push my boundaries and push myself out of my comfort zones. I have learned that fear is a large component of why I dislike conflict so much. It has been easier for me in the past to be as non-confrontational as possible so that I could avoid any consequences that came along with facing something head on, or expressing my opinion, including someone possibly not liking me. It is a cowardly way to go through life and the past several years in my hippie bullshit introspective phase I have realized that I didn’t want to live like that any more. It’s crappy and disingenuous.

I’m funny. I know most people like my sense of humor (hey, know your strengths), I am also someone who has viewpoints and opinions that not everybody is going to agree with, and that is okay. Not everybody needs to like me. It took me 43 years to get to this point. I really hope I can figure out a way to impart this wisdom on to my children at a much earlier age.

box

*Do I really have to give photo credits for the box picture? It’s a box. From the internet.

10 Responses to “Boxes are Fun”

  1. Miss Molly May 4, 2013 at 1:35 am #

    Love this…Oddly enough (and I’m pretty odd), I just posted my “manifesto” on my technology blog this afternoon because of a comment I received. Your post yesterday was mighty and important. Today, we learn that people will be able to “print” usable guns on 3D printers soon. We can’t say enough about the current attitude by the gun-toters. I’m pretty tired of people (too often guys) who put us down for speaking up. Bette Midler once said about stuffy people, “If they can’t take a joke, fuck ’em.” To the gun toters who have to post their opinions on every site that gives them heat, I say, “If they can’t take the heat, fuck ’em.” I also have said to a couple of commenters that I won’t post their comments when it gets to be an attack. Let ’em get their own blogs.
    If you want to read the “manifesto” it’s at http://technologyroadtrip.wordpress.com

    xo

    • Amy May 4, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

      I just love you and I really loved your Manifesto and I Love Better Midler. It’s a veritable love-fest up in here.

      Molly, don’t ever change and please keep reading and commenting on my posts. I got nothin’ but love and respect for ya baby. xoxo

  2. donofalltrades May 4, 2013 at 4:19 am #

    Was this the gun related post? I don’t even read comments that relate to such things anymore. I’ve spent 15 years fighting people at work both mentally and physically. I’m drained I guess. Believe it or not, I hate confrontation now. I still say what I want, but I don’t like to argue my stance, if that make sense. Commenters on posts related to guns, sports, and Obama are 85% idiots, no matter which side they’re on.

    • Courtney May 4, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

      Amen!!

      • Amy May 4, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

        🙂

    • Amy May 4, 2013 at 3:02 pm #

      Oh one I did yesterday was the gun-related post and I hear you. I imagine you are drained and probably a bit cynical. Heaven knows I would be. Your comment makes TOTAL sense and your last line is so true, kind of hilarious and sad, yet so true.

      Always happy to read your perspective Don. 🙂

  3. mollytopia May 4, 2013 at 4:35 am #

    I think you’re funny as shit. Molly and Don are correct. Your kids are lucky to have you. You rule. Annnnd scene.

    • Amy May 4, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

      And our new found best-friend status carries on 🙂 Thank you!!

  4. Courtney May 4, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

    I find very few blogs funny, normally they make me cringe because they are trying too hard. Yours? Hella funny. I love your dry sense of humor and comical observations. Spot on!!! Haters can suck it, respectfully 🙂

    • Amy May 4, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

      Thank you Courtney! I appreciate the comments and compliments AND really love that you added “respectfully” at the end of “suck it”. Love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

