What’s Next? Irwin Mainway and his Bag O’Glass?

2 May

If you’re ever thinking to yourself  “GOSH, I just love people. People are the BEST. YAY PEOPLE!” and you don’t like the icky feeling that comes crickettalong with being  so optimistic, read a story about a 5-year old who shot and killed his 2-year old sister with the “Little Crickett My First Rifle” he received for his birthday. But don’t stop there, read the comments on that story and watch the whole thing turn into a platform for varying political agendas and almost instantly, you will start to feel that old familiar cynicism and before you know it,  a deep hatred for your fellow man will creep back into your life.

Here’s where I get judgy (I know it’s not a word, go with it).  To say “It’s just one of those nightmares, a quick thing that happens when you turn your back” as Kentucky State Police Trooper Billy Gregory said in regards to the shooting is ludicrous without the words “WHEN YOU BUY YOUR 5 YEAR OLD A GUN AND LEAVE IT LOADED AND UNLOCKED AND EASILY ACCESSIBLE,” added to the end of that sentence.

One cannot utter the word “gun” without igniting huge political firestorms. Listen, I don’t want to infringe on your 2nd amendment right to bear arms. I certainly don’t want to take your children.  But for the love of all that is good and holy can we stop manufacturing guns geared to children?

I get that in some parts of the country guns are part of the culture for children at a very early age. Fine. Go take your kid out with YOUR gun and shoot with her or him. Show them what a powerful weapon a gun is.  Talk to them about the importance of making sure it is NOT loaded until you are ready to use it (spare me the argument about using it for self-defense. This is a kid we’re talking about). THEN, go home and talk about the importance of locking up a gun and how it is not a plaything because guns are for ADULTS.

I can only imagine that the manufacturing of kid-sized guns is not going to stop so at least be responsible and keep your kids’ weapon unloaded, locked, and up and away from the kid when there is no adult supervision.

I would assume someone who is so enamored with guns that they just couldn’t wait to run out and buy Jr. their very own kid-size rifle  knows a lot more than I do and if they DON’T, but still want to arm their child, then take a freaking class in gun safety. There’s a good parent/child activity.  Let’s learn how to use this deadly weapon mommy and daddy are giving you for your birthday.

This whole thing reminded me of something that was so ludicrous and amusing when I saw it. Not that anything about this is funny, but I couldn’t help but to be reminded of the old Saturday Night Live Skit that featured Dan Aykroyd as slimy toy manufacturer Irwin Mainway. The premise of the skit is that Mainway was on a show called Consumer Probe and Candace Bergen is the host who questions Mainway’s choice to manufacture such “toys” as “Pretty Peggy Ear Piercing Set” and “Bag O’ Glass”,which is truly a bag of broken glass. Mainway has an excuse for everything and the bottom line is money. I saw this skit as a kid originally and laughed because of how convincing Aykroyd was as a money-hungry jerk who didn’t care about the safety of children, and because of how silly the idea of parents buying such dangerous things for their children.

One of the comments on the story was “bathtubs kill more children per year than guns”. True. However,  A bathtub will not have to live with the fact that it killed its sibling.

I cannot imagine what this family must be feeling but I have to disagree with grandmother Linda Riddle who said, “It was God’s will. It was her time to go, I guess”.  REALLY? It was God’s will to have your grandson shoot and kill your granddaughter? I am not a religious person at all, that is for another post, but this is fuckery (also not a word but I’m on a roll) at its highest form.

This was a totally preventable and horrible tragedy and I am not even sure WHAT, but something has to change.

*Image courtesy of ABC News

37 Responses to “What’s Next? Irwin Mainway and his Bag O’Glass?”

  1. carla May 2, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    I’n not from the America so I don’t really have a political view on the matter. I don’t really understand it and the rights and laws to have one?
    But in my view guns are for the police and farmers! No one else NEEDS to own one surely?!

    • Amy May 2, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

      Hi Carla – thanks for reading. The right to bear arms is the second amendment of the constitution of the US. Of course guns were very different back then BUT I digress. I truly don’t want to take away everybody’s guns. I just have yet to hear any kind of rational thought process that doesn’t start out “BUT IT’S MY RIGHT” and end “OUT OF MY COLD DEAD HANDS” regarding why we need semi-automatic weapons, or why guns in the hands of a child is an okay thing. Anyway, sorry to rant. I have angered a lot of people on some other sites with this post but such is life.

      Thanks again for reading!

      • carla May 3, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

        Oh well; everyone is entitled to their opinion! You just so happen to not agree with theirs!!

    • Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 3:03 am #

      Ok… the people you are talking about are from FARM COUNTRY. So by your statement… they should have guns. What is your point?

      • Amy May 3, 2013 at 3:11 am #

        Her point is that she is from another country and she didn’t understand when I said that this was turned into a political issue.

      • Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 3:14 am #

        I understood, but I also wanted to point out that even in other countries farmers have weapons and as many other countries are more rural.. I failed to see how this was even a point.

  2. Peter May 2, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

    Seems to be another one of these stories every week….Occupy the NRA on Facebook posts them regularly….and no, it isn’t god’s will for kids to be shooting each other.

    • Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 3:02 am #

      Neither is it the NRA’s will that a kid shoot someone. Please get a broader sense of the world…

  3. Toni Freeman May 3, 2013 at 12:14 am #

    The accessibility of guns in this country is stupid and “fuckery” is MOST CERTAINLY a word.

    • Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 3:01 am #

      People can use guns responsbily. As a veteran I think this comment is a bit off… but ok! As for a 5 year old with a gun, bad idea in any sense… but this is a different debate than guns.

  4. Miss Molly May 3, 2013 at 2:06 am #

    If parent can be a verb, fuckery can be a noun. I intend to steal it soon.

    About guns – this stuff has to stop and somebody has to inform people like the grandmother that no God worth believing in has a plan for kids to kill each other or for any adults to be killing kids either. I’m having trouble with the scene at the family dinner table: “I’m sorry I shot my sister, Dad.” “Well, son, you’ve just got to be more careful next time. Pass the potatoes.” That little boy is likely to have a few nightmares over the years, too.

    Stop the madness. Please.

    Great post, xo

    • Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 3:04 am #

      I am sure that is how the scene at the dinner table would go down… [insert eye roll] grow up…

      • Toni Freeman May 3, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

        Perhaps, “Opinionated Man,” the more accurate, “Elitist, Condescending, Self-Righteous Man” was higher than the character count would allow???

      • Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

        Only to people that take a subject out of context to “serve their point.” Perhaps you might change your name to “I make up mental images to make my point seem right even though it is unrelated.”

      • Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

        I am also glad you made a gun debate about feminism. Really shows your level of maturity and thinking. Well done!

      • Toni Freeman May 3, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

        I can’t find a way to comment on your comment below (likely due to my level of maturity), but I’m not sure what gun debate about feminism I made on this thread. In fact, my only comment besides the fact that I enjoy “fuckery” and feel that guns are too accessible was the one below, in direct response to you asking someone to “grow up” for having an opinion which was different from yours.

        I personally have never gotten anyone to come over to my way of thinking by bullying them or telling them that their opinion is the wrong one. And I rarely resort to name-calling, but I do think, by asking someone else to grow up and questioning their maturity for having a different belief than you IS elitist, condescending and self-righteous.

        And because you are a Veteran, you don’t get a free pass to behave like a judgmental buffoon. What I DO wish was free for Veterans was an enormous amount of post-service mental healthcare, and that is not sarcasm. I sincerely wish you well.

      • Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

        Ah so I am out of line for telling someone to grow up that paints an image of this sad family (yes they made a mistake but you choose to beat them down for it?) acting as if the son and father will have a future talk that is so far fetched it isn’t even humorous? You are funny, you sit here and blame this family and then get shocked because another blogger comes in and says your assessments are way off mark. If that makes you sleep well fine. And the reason I said you made a feminist remark was from the pointed usage of turning my name into a longer insult with MAN at the end. That made me assume you were making a feminist remark, which I would have actually appreciated as wit. Now I am just more disappointed in your responses so I will stop. responding to you and those on this thread. Take care and try to remember that even people that make mistakes like this family deserve some sympthy… as a woman you should understand that. I sincerely wish you well.

      • Toni Freeman May 4, 2013 at 12:42 am #

        Ummmm, I used the word “Man” in part of the suggested name because it was a twist on the name I presume you chose for yourself, “Opinionated Man.” Wowsers. As far as the rest, apparently you are confusing me with someone else, as I didn’t take the time to comment on ANYTHING AT ALL on this thread with the exception of your calling people immature for having a different………………………..ugh. Really not worth it. I was honestly just supporting someone who I felt you attacked.

        Women and men, those of you who have guns, ain’t nothing any of us can do about it now, so I would just implore you to protect your loved ones with the level of passion you are using to protect your right to bear arms.

      • Opinionated Man May 4, 2013 at 12:44 am #

        I didn’t say YOU did, learn to read please. I said the commenter above did…sigh… which was the WHOLE reason I responded NOT to you TO HER!

        I protect my wife and my 2 daughters with my life… just as I protected this country. Thanks.

      • Toni Freeman May 4, 2013 at 1:11 am #

        No, actually, I just followed the thread. It says, “In response to Toni Freeman” and then it says, “You”……..so it really wasn’t clear. Anyway, no big whoop. It was a simple misunderstanding.

        I was freakishly advanced in my reading skills at an extraordinarily young age, so much so that, while the rest of my kindergarten mates slept at naptime, I was singled out and brought to the library and then was made to read to the class for show-and-tell like a sideshow geek freak. I am pretty sure that had something to do with my rebellion later on in life, but, long story short, I can read.

        Sorry Amy. I am having a bit of a problem reeling it in today. I love you, too and I will stop.

      • Opinionated Man May 4, 2013 at 1:16 am #

        Finally we agree on something. This was never meant to be an arguement with you but I found her “make believe conversation” offensive. I also don’t consider responding to everyone on this thread as “wrong” since I happened to read the post and saw “everyone” agreeing and thought I would share a different perspective. Sorry if that isn’t welcome and I don’t consider anything I said here too harsh… but I can be pretty harsh on my blog so maybe I should have toned it down. My apologies. -OM

  5. MommyVerbs May 3, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    I totally and completely agree.A complete tragedy. So tragic I can barely even begin to think about it. Of course, I am so anti-gun, I’m not sure how much further anti-gun I could get. And judgy is most definitely a word, too. Thank you for writing this. I’m so anti-gun, I never could, so that is why I need you.)

    • Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 3:03 am #

      I sure hope you have more reason for being “anti gun” then… they are just bad. As a veteran I hope you realize guns protect this country and GAVE you this country.

      • MommyVerbs May 3, 2013 at 3:25 am #

        As a veteran, I thank you for your service to our country. I tend to believe that people who are brave and dedicated to our freedoms like you, are what protect this country.

      • Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 3:26 am #

        That is very kind of you to say. Guns in the right hands can be a good thing…

  6. Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 3:00 am #

    I read this thinking you were going to end one way but you did not. So I will say I agree with you. I think we should have the right to own guns… but a rifle gauged at a 5 year old is a bit young. Now in certain parts of the country a 10 year old or older… I have seen that a ton and those kids grow up learning a respect for the weapon. The odd ball crazies that shoot up schools are no where near the percentage of “responsible” KIDS and adults that use fire arms everyday. Thanks for the post. -OM

    • Amy May 3, 2013 at 3:10 am #

      I am kind of flabbergasted that you decided to post a reply to every single comment on here and I really debated approving your comments, but, this is ‘Murica and all so I did.

      I realize this is a volatile issue. I appreciate you being somewhat respectful as I have been met with a ridiculous amount of ugliness over this post on other parts of the internet.

      Thanks for reading. .

      • Opinionated Man May 3, 2013 at 3:11 am #

        I always try to be respectful and your post interested me. I did not intend to “spam your blog” but each of those comments deserved a response from someone that “sees differently” so I thus provided it. I hope you do not mind. All the best, -OM

  7. Miss Molly May 3, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

    Amy…Your posts are so great and I have nominated you for yet another Inspiring Blogger Award (I know you already have one)…Details are here on my site http://ggmissm.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/an-inspiring-something-to-sing-about-if-i-could-only-sing/

    You sure did inspire one opinionated man to get busy. Although I don’t really think a response was needed for every comment. One good cogent and thoughtful response would have been enough.

    But all those responses let you – and the rest of us know – that you did touch a nerve and that means a lot.

  8. Amy May 4, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    HOLY SMOKE. First of all, thank you Molly!! I have plans to get busy and comply with these awards as I am so very touched that I have been nominated for a couple. Thank you .
    SECOND of all…my kids and I take their dad out for dinner for his birthday and I come home to this!?

    I have to agree with Molly, Opinionated Man. I do appreciate that you felt the need to give your side of things, I guess, but we’re all adults. We are all well aware of the other viewpoints. We really are. You said you didn’t feel the need to SPAM my blog, but you most certainly did and this felt more like you bullying people who feel differently about a subject than you do, and as my cousin Toni said, nobody is going to change anybody’s opinion, especially in that manner.

    I’m not going to stop writing about what I want to write about but If you feel like you cannot respectfully comment without calling names and resorting to total ass-holery (another awesome word) please don’t comment at all.

    Opinionated Man, I saw you all but throw someone off your blog because they challenged your views on abortion. I’m not throwing anybody off my blog, not that I could (could I?) but please, let’s be grown-ups.

  9. datinginvegas May 4, 2013 at 8:26 am #

    Oh I am so late to this party. Rock on Amy! It doesn’t matter if I agree or not I think it it so awesome that your writing inspired people! Nice! My humble .02 is that the family needs to teach gun safety. I am am mother of two boys and you can bet that I would NEVER give them a gun without TONS of safety lessons. I am also very passionate about people looking at the root of the problem. (I am not talking about this case specifically) I am really referring to cases like Columbine. The issue isn’t the gun. The issue is what in the world is going on in our society where these young men are snapping and killing. The tragedy isn’t the”how” it’s the “why.” Amy, I just have to share this. The link is the writing of a mom who is crying out for help with her mentally ill son. Guns are just a resource. I cry for a society that does not see that. I don’t own a gun, I am not a member of the NRA. I just don’t see the resource or the tool used as the issue. My heart breaks for this woman. GREAT stuff as usual!! I got a kick out of the controversy. It is one thing to have a different opinion..it is just plain rude to be a bully about it.

    http://www.post-gazette.com/stories/opinion/perspectives/i-am-adam-lanzas-mother-my-son-threatens-to-kill-me-ive-tried-everything-everything-is-not-enough-667485/

    • Amy May 4, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

      YOU are never too late, always happy to see your comments!

      Very good point and one I agree with as well, the culture of guns and violence in this country is insane. Something that I plan to write about as well. I just read an article about the insanity of the movie ratings system and how a movie that literally shows a woman being sawed in half will receive a PG-13 rating and one that shows a sexual act will receive an NC-17. REALLY? So we’re telling out children that, in essence, violence is more acceptable than sex. It’s a tricky thing and one that I am enjoying researching, though it is a bit frustrating.

      I have read that link and it broke my heart. I feel truly sad for that woman and our country as a whole that this is the state of things as they are.

      YOU rock on! Thanks for your perspectives!!!

  10. Le Clown May 4, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    Amy,
    I’m Canadian, which makes me awesome. Now I wish it also meant that I was anti-gun, but that would be a lie. I’m anti-gun because, it parts, shit like this happens. I have kids myself, and we do not allow toy guns in our house. Now it’s a bit hypocritical as we have lots of light sabers and other Star Wars toys, but I doubt my daughter could put her hands on a At-At in real life… And if she can, I want one too.
    Le Clown

    • Amy May 4, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

      LeClown,

      I feel like I have arrived to see you commenting on one of my posts. I admire your work and all the good you do for bloggers. Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

      Now on to the important stuff. Light sabers! Yes, we are big fans of light sabers in my house too. When the boys were younger their dad and I decided that we did not want to have toy guns in the house either. One day, one of my sons bit a cracker into the shape of a gun and said “bang”. Since then, they have outgrown their fascination with guns and my youngest was a scout and learned about gun safety and has shot a BB gun. I think it’s important to not make them seem taboo or “sexy” to kids, but I wouldn’t ever buy my child a gun and stand firm that they are not playthings and should not be treated as such and that the manufacturing of youth rifles is a travesty.

      Thanks again for dropping by. Hope to see you again 🙂

      • Le Clown May 4, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

        Amy,
        That’s very kind of you, thank you. I am 100% in agreement with you about not making any object taboo, so that it attracts attention for the wrong reasons. We prone education, and discussion when we watch a movie, may it be about guns, heteronormalization, and even the F word. So basically, it’s not something we want them to use, but we prefer them being aware, and with a criticizing eyes, as much as their young age allows them to have one. You guys seem like great parents.
        Le Clown

  11. Courtney May 4, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    Really great post and I thought you did a fantastic job of keeping it out of the political debate realm. It was about kids and guns- two things that should not be together. Come on, scientists have proven that their brains are not developed and they don’t yet posess the ability to think about consequences. They think they are immortal. Not a bad thing, it’s just called BEING A KID. So why the ell would someone make a gun for kids!?! I really enjoyed reading your perspective on this. No matter what, someone will always get their panties in a wad and turn it into a political debate. Bored people trolling blogs….le sigh.

    • Amy May 4, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

      Exactly what a friend of mine and I were saying about kids and guns as far as they think they are immortal and do not understand the ramifications of shooting someone.

      Thank you for reading and yes…I will never understand the propensity for someone else to pop up in someone’s blog and virtually try to take it over. Thanks for proving a point about emotions overtaking reason in this matter.

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

