Oh GREAT

25 Apr

peopleWell played People Magazine. This is trolling at its finest. For those who are fortunate enough to not be familiar with the term “trolling” let me enlighten you.

From Wikipedia –

In Internet slang, a troll (pron.: /ˈtrl/, /ˈtrɒl/) is someone who posts inflammatory,[1]extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community, such as a forum, chat room, or blog, with the primary intent of provoking readers into an emotional response[2] or of otherwise disrupting normal on-topic discussion.[3] The noun troll may also refer to the provocative message itself, as in: “That was an excellent troll you posted.”

I have some personal experience with trolling, or maybe I don’t. Sometimes it’s hard to tell whether someone is trolling or whether they are just jerks. In either case, both times that my award-winning (not really) iReports were chosen to be featured in CNN stories, there were comments made in the comment section following the stories that were either made by trolls to stir some kind of proverbial internet pot or they were made by clueless or kind of jerky people.

I think it’s a fine line actually.

I personally take issue with people who claim that they enjoy being jerks just to stir people up. I am all for healthy debate, but I think  saying contrary things for the sake of saying contrary things is, well, it’s jerky.

That said, I think People Magazine is fully aware that Gwynnie is not a well-liked celebrity. Whether you dislike her because of her dumb cookbook, her stilted and privileged view of life, her kiddie bikinis,  or her crazy over-inflated view of herself,  the woman manages to annoy a lot of people.  I think People magazine knows that and is hoping this will entice consumers to buy the magazine to put the cover on dart boards.  NO, no, I think we are being trolled or they are hoping we will all be forced to love her as much as she loves herself and I can tell you right now People magazine, that will not happen. No one loves Gwyneth as much as Gwyneth. NOBODY.

I can only imagine her next cookbook will include the lines “As the world’s most beautiful woman, I can tell you the secret to my beauty is eating a gluten-free pro-biotic macro-biotic vegetarian diet. I can share this with you as the world’s most beautiful woman, because I am beautiful.  In fact, some would say, the world’s most beautiful. ”

 

5 Responses to “Oh GREAT”

  1. Courtney April 25, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    Man, I feel so out of the loop these days. Do people hate Gwyneth?! I had no idea haha! I am neutral as far as she’s concerned, but wasn’t aware people disliked her. Funny that People Mag did that though, how odd!

    • Amy April 25, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      She actually was just voted most hated celebrity recently and I went off on an angry rant about my irrational dislike for her and Oprah a few weeks back and yep! People magazine knows what they’re doing. I guess. Blech.

      I really like your blog 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      • Courtney April 25, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

        Wow, clearly I need to buy more trashy magazines when I’m at the grocery store. I’m slacking in my celeb knowledge, and I really kinda not so secretly love it.

        And thank you! I’m glad you stumbled onto mine so I could find yours 😉

  2. Miss Molly April 25, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

    Amy, thanks for this. I was having trouble figuring out how People magazine became the arbiter of beauty and could make pronouncements like “most beautiful woman” anyway. The troll aspect sounds dead on. Brilliant…(I would have nominated you…)

    • Amy April 25, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

      OH Molly, you are a sheer delight. I love how they proclaim anybody “MOST BEAUTIFUL WOMAN IN THE WORLD!” Like they’ve seen every woman in the world and they get to choose. It should be “Most beautiful woman with the highest Q rating who will help sell our magazine” but I guess that is not as catchy.

      Thank you, always a pleasure to hear from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

