Try a Little Kindness

20 Apr

My sister had a boyfriend once who asked me if I believed in aliens and if I did what I thought they would look like. I told him I did and that I thought they would probably have big heads and eyes, and be lanky and have long fingers, because I can’t believe thousands of people all over the world could be wrong about what they have seen when they were abducted. My answer was meant to be tongue in cheek, though I DO believe in other life forms, but I have no idea what they would look like.  Very quickly he said “NOPE. Insects. They look like insects.”

There is something to be said for that kind of resolve, I guess.  I mean what proof did he have that they would look like insects? And why would they look like insects? Besides the fact that they are depicted as insect-like creatures in the movie Starship Troopers, which don’t get me wrong, is a fine piece of cinema, but I don’t really think it is a documentary.

It’s an opinion that aliens exist and that they look like insects, and it’s a fine opinion. It doesn’t hurt anyone.

The older I get the more I am interested in what makes people believe what they believe. Upbringing? Societal pressures? Culture? I imagine they all play a role.

Something I believe and teach my children is that they can believe whatever they want to, as long as it doesn’t hurt someone else.   I am a proponent of homosexuals having the right to marry.  I think marriage is a basic human right and when it comes down to it, how does it affect me? If my gay friends want to get married, they should be able to have that right. If they don’t want to, then that’s cool too. Neither one affects me personally in the least. Not one bit.

You are allowed to think differently than I do, absolutely. Please do. It’s what makes the world go round. I do have a bit of a problem, however, when a bumper sticker on my car that is specifically in favor of inclusive Scouting and says “morally straight” and has rainbow colors under it prompts someone to leave this note on my car –

It is not morally possible to be homosexual and be moral. It is an oxymoron. Like little big. You may be ethical but immorality is immorality. You must be an Obama supporter

I can only assume it was that bumper sticker they were referring to. The only other bumper stickers I have on my car are a peace sign with animals in it, a Banksy drawing with a little girl letting a heart-shaped balloon go, and a hounds-tooth hat to represent Bear Bryant, former Alabama football coach.

The fact that my bumper sticker was so very offensive to someone that they felt the need to write the above really puts the cherry on a humanity sucks a lot this week sundae.  I don’t have it in me to write about the other events of the week, but my thoughts are with them.

I am not gay but if I WAS and I got that note on my car I would feel like simply existing was so very distasteful to someone that they felt the need to let me know they hated me and for what reason? Because a strip of vinyl on my car made them feel…what? Scared? I truly don’t know.

I know I am very naive and I do imagine this happens often. It just sucks. Stop doing it, people. Tend to your own fucking garden, keep your own side of the street clean, and try not to go out of your way to be a jerk to someone. Of course it would be nice if we could be kind to each other but I don’t want to push it, so  that’s it. Pretty simple rules to live by, really.

And that “you must be an Obama supporter” is the most hilarious “oooh burn'” ever.

 rainbow_eye_by_mysteria_dl

11 Responses to “Try a Little Kindness”

  1. Miss Molly April 20, 2013 at 4:26 am #

    I used to keep a cartoon on my desk that had a funny looking little guy saying: “There are two classes of people – the righteous and the unrighteous. The classifying is done by the righteous.” I don’t need the cartoon any more because I have that message tattooed on my heart. So sorry you had to meet up with one of those righteous classifiers, darlin’. Your response here is perfect.

    • Amy April 23, 2013 at 12:44 am #

      LOVE that cartoon, though sad that you don’t need it anymore and sad that it exists at all.

      Thank you my lovely. Thanks for reading and your comment, as always, is perfect.

  2. bensbitterblog April 20, 2013 at 4:31 am #

    Or how about jumbo shrimp? I just think her or she needs to be a little more clever with their retorts.

    • Amy April 23, 2013 at 12:47 am #

      OMG BEN…yes. YES. I did appreciate the fact that the person felt the need to explain to me, or TRY to anyway, what an oxymoron is. I was lost until this very instant though. I have changed my mind totally, going to rip that bumper sticker off right now.

      Thank you BEN!!

      • bensbitterblog April 23, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

        My favorite oxymoron is bittersweet. I would rip off all my bumperstickers if I had them. I should get one that says, “I don’t like bumperstickers” That would tell people everything I believe in…

  3. datinginvegas April 20, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    That person is not even worth your energy. Whenever I think about how mean people can be, I think of people like the random stranger at the Boston marathon that witnessed a man lose his legs and immediately jumped into action by grabbing his jacket and making it a torniquete and saved that man’s life. He was an average Joe who showed amazing heart when the the need arose. There are many examples of people like him who show me that there is still hope. That dumb person who left that note is someone to feel sorry for. You’re so much more evolved than him/her. 🙂 You be betta than that!

    • Amy April 23, 2013 at 12:45 am #

      Thank you doll and YES, more good in this world than bad. You are so right.

      Thank you for reading and reminding me of that! BIG HUGS.

  4. pattypetalpat lawson April 20, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    To leave notes on someone’s car is about the most cowardly thing someone can do. To inject assumptions about ploitics into moral beliefs is stupid. You were left a note by a stupid coward. I am so sorry.

    • Amy April 23, 2013 at 12:51 am #

      It was RIDICULOUS! So very what the hell BUT a good, teachable moment for the boys.

  5. MissFourEyes April 20, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

    I don’t understand why we can’t all agree that ‘This is what you believe in, and this is what I believe in’. There. Done. Simple. No more fighting. Aliens can look like whatever they want to look like (for all we know, they’re shape shifters)

    • Amy April 23, 2013 at 12:46 am #

      I so agree with you. It SEEMS like it should be a pretty easy thing to do. Live and let live and all that. Not so easy it seems. And OF COURSE…shape shifters. YOU are right.I bow to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

