Respond. — Look for the Helpers…for they are the Real Superheroes.

15 Apr

I was JUST writing a post like this. She said it better.

mommyverbs

helpers

On  days like today, on weeks like this week, I struggle as a parent. I struggle with so many emotions. I pivot between fear and terror for my family’s safety. I feel overwhelmed with empathy and sympathy for all of those whose lives have changed forever. There’s even a part of me that wants to mourn for the world that I am raising my children up in right now.

But I am the Momma. I have to show up. I have to search.

I have to search for the humanity. I have to strive to find the good. I have to seek out the helpers.

For they are the real superheroes.

It is a hard balance for me. I hear the news of violence and my first response is always, “I want to go home.” No matter where I am, no matter what my job is at the time ……

View original post 488 more words

6 Responses to “Respond. — Look for the Helpers…for they are the Real Superheroes.”

  1. Miss Molly April 16, 2013 at 12:30 am #

    Amy, take your own bow as a hero for letting us know about the mommyverb site. I was really moved by it…Thanks so much for bringing into your own fold for the rest of us. I posted a comment there, too. We’re the mommas no matter how old our kids get to be.

  2. Amy April 16, 2013 at 12:47 am #

    She is wonderful and I am very glad to be the one to point you in her direction.

    So true, you never stop being a momma. Big hugs.

  3. ParentingIsFunny April 16, 2013 at 3:12 am #

    That’s good advice to bring hope.

    • Amy April 16, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

      It is hard to remember that a handful of people can cause so much havoc and that the world is not going crazy sometimes.

  4. MommyVerbs April 16, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

    Thanks ‘TickingMomma’…I think you are all kinds of wonderful yourself. I think you are my first reblogger…so that MUST mean we will be BFFs. 🙂 Seriously, these have been hard days and I have been more serious than usual. Thanks for the support! I love my blogging neighbor friends. ❤

    • Amy April 16, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

      BFF’s of COURSE. 🙂

      I know, very rough couple of days and I’ve been more serious than usual too.

      I thoroughly enjoy your blog and I’m glad I pointed a few other wonderful people your way! Big hugs.

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

