No, Thanks

5 Mar

scale

Thank you so much for your repeated queries regarding my participation in the workplace diet challenge called “The Biggest Loser”. I mean REALLY, have I ever looked in a mirror? Could I possibly be okay with how I look? Maybe I feel that weight loss is just a personal issue?  Perhaps I find dieting together in a group to be the exact opposite of motivational?  is DE-motivational a word?  The answers to those questions are yes, for the most part, absolutely, not motivational to me at all, and no, not a word.

I totally understand that group weight loss and fitness things like this are helpful and motivational for some people. That is great. It TRULY is the exact opposite for me. When I am asked 10 times a day, by thinner people who are not participating in the challenge mind you, if I AM going to participate, it really does make me want to see how much weight I can GAIN in a month.

Perhaps it is because I have been told my entire life that I had “such a pretty face.” Presumably the rest of me is…well… not so pretty. Maybe it’s because I have been the same size, more or less, since middle school. Maybe it’s because I cannot think of anything more boring than sitting around in a group and talking about food. Or caloric intake. Or the really great low cal recipe I found for cheesecake. Maybe I am just super stubborn. OR, and this one is probably scary to a lot of people, I really am perfectly okay with myself, no matter what the number on the scale says.

More than likely, it’s a combination of all of the above.  This kind of thing is very personal and private to me. I am not on my employers’ insurance plan, just to shut down any of those arguments that may be brewing in your heads.

I have never been much of a “joiner” and honestly, that is fine with me.  I have never wondered where my children get their stubbornness and while it is not super easy to parent stubborn children, this trait will serve them well in the future in ways other than not feeling pressured to participate in weight loss challenges.

I feel like I should call my mom and simultaneously apologize and thank her.

“The trouble with having a stubbornness contest with your kids is that they have your stubbornness gene.”

~Robert Braul

9 Responses to “No, Thanks”

  1. Good Golly Miss Molly March 5, 2013 at 12:57 am #

    Great post! I have been known to ask someone who asked a way too personal question or gave me way too personal advice: “May I see your invitation, please?” (Puzzled look from person) Me: “I just wondered when you were invited to comment on my personal life.” I don’t say it to be mean. I say it to stand up for myself and maybe remind somebody to mind their own business.

  2. Amy March 5, 2013 at 1:01 am #

    I love your response! I don’t think it is mean. I think it is a good way to stand up for yourself.

    I just would never, ever, EVER, ask someone something akin to “hey, you planning on losing weight anytime soon?”

    Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. Lucky Wreck March 5, 2013 at 1:59 am #

    Sitting around with people talking about food and caloric intake would not only be boring, but, I think it would cause me to sneak eat candy in my closet. Being okay with yourself no matter what the scale says = super awesome…And letting something be personal and private to you = super awesome, too! 🙂

    • Amy March 5, 2013 at 2:09 am #

      YOU = super awesome 🙂 thanks so much for reading!

  4. bensbitterblog March 5, 2013 at 4:41 am #

    I’m pretty sure I can’t stand letting anyone know if I am dieting or not. Also I hope your funny gene gets passed on to your kids too.

    • Amy March 5, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

      Thanks Ben! I think they did get my sense of humor and honestly, that’s not easy to parent either. I need to send my mother flowers. 🙂

      • bensbitterblog March 5, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

        I need to send my mom some flowers that have the squirting water gag. AAAHHH, not funny sorry.

  5. Anna Lea West March 5, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    Oh. Hell. No. I feel like coming to your office and whippin’ up on some ignorant people. I’m mad for you … uniting in fury, if you will 😉 I keep trying to NOT expect more of humans … to make ridiculousness like this easier. Alas …

    • Amy March 5, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

      I am happy to have you united in fury with me! 🙂 Though, like you, I wish there was no reason to HAVE to be united in fury over stuff like this.

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

