Can We Stop This Please?

1 Mar

rocks_15

I cannot stand a few things.  Maybe more than a few things, but since I covered Mumford and Sons in a previous post, I will not express my opinion about them anymore. Also, I don’t think anything I have ever written has been more controversial than my admission that I was not a Mumford and Sons fan, and I have written out in support of gay marriage, a woman’s right to choose, and politics.  Mumford and Sons really has a lot of you brainwashed  it seems.  Step away from the banjos.

One of the things that burns my biscuits is the trend of bashing one group of people to try and make another group feel better.  For instance, If you saw a little boy wearing a shirt that said “girls are dumb, throw rocks at them” you would FREAK out, and you should. Why is it okay then for little girls to wear shirts that say “boys are dumb, throw rocks at them”?

I am all for girl power. I AM a girlish 43 year old woman. I have two nieces and a god-daughter and I want them to have high self esteem and know they can do whatever they want to do. I know the importance of girls knowing that they ARE powerful.

Shirts that say things like “boys are dumb, throw rocks at them” or “girls rule, boys drool” are just hurtful and don’t do anything for girls’ self esteem.  They push the bullshit philosophy that to raise yourself you have to knock somebody else down.

I get the sentiment, I really do. I AGREE with the sentiment. There just HAS to be a better way to say it. Hey, how about a shirt that says “GIRL POWER.” Same idea, less nastiness.

I feel the same way when I see shirts that say “Real Women Have Curves.” I am VERY pro positive body image, and I think real women DO have curves.  I also think real women have no curves. They are round, pear-shaped, rotund, tall, short. They can refer to themselves as zaftig, flat, boyish, fat, curvy, whatever terms they choose, if they choose.

Again, I GET it. Be curvy, own that shit. Claim it as your own. Refute what magazines and the media have been trying to tell us our whole lives. DO IT. Just don’t make those who are NOT curvy feel like any less of a REAL woman because of their body.  It is just as bad as what the media has been trying to sell us about how we should feel about our bigger bodies.

Boys are dumb sometimes. So are girls. Real women come in every shape and size and don’t get me going on the term REAL.  Let’s just stop throwing rocks at each other, mmmkay?

10 Responses to “Can We Stop This Please?”

  1. muddledmom March 1, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    I’ve had my own post about body image brewing up for some time. One day it will get out. Nicely said. And I do enjoy Mumford and Sons but no one likes my singing along to it. 😉

    • Amy March 1, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

      Thank you. I look forward to reading your post about body image 🙂

  2. Anna Lea West March 1, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Here-here. That’s why I love the quote, “Promote What You Love Instead of Bashing What You Hate” … sorta the same concept 🙂

    • Amy March 1, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

      I love that quote as well. Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. donofalltrades March 1, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    I don’t know what Mumford and Sons is, but I remember a couple of years ago when I think JCPenney pulled some shirts because they offended people. They were meant for girls and said things like “I let boys do my homework” or “Math is hard”…stuff like that which seems harmless enough. I’d not let my little girl wear such crap, but to each their own.

    • Amy March 4, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

      Thanks for reading 🙂

  4. Good Golly Miss Molly March 1, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    Powerful post! Brava…

  5. Amy March 4, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    Thank you so much for reading 🙂

  6. Heather Przybyla March 11, 2013 at 12:39 am #

    Thank you! Took the words right out of my mouth. I don’t get understand why people are so hateful of what they dislike, it seems more satisfying to promote what you like.

    • Amy March 11, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

      Thanks! I don’t understand why it is such a difficult thing to do either. Glad you agree. We have to stick together! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

