Fat Amy before Fat Amy was Fat Amy

19 Feb

Recently I was drawn into a very short Twitter feud, which is a ridiculous term that I may have made up that involves one person tweeting something and another tweeting a response that has  a differing opinion regarding the original Tweet.  Not only is the term ridiculous, the actual act of twitter feuding is pretty ridiculous. I try not to Tweet anything other than mildly amusing 144 character quips, BUT, sometimes I can’t sit on my fingers and not make my opinion be known.

I am a very non-confrontational person but the very nature of a Twitter feud makes it easy for people who are usually non-confrontational to be heard.  I think we are all a little braver from the comfort of our own home sitting behind a computer monitor. PLUS, a Twitter feud can be the equivalent of saying “SAYS YOU” and then running off to hide, which really is my favorite way to confront someone.

The feud started out as they usually do, a Tweet from someone I do not follow ended up in my time line because somebody that I DO follow had re-Tweeted it, meaning they had sent it out to their own followers, which allowed me to see it. I could copy and paste, but I would rather not because as I said, I don’t follow this person and it’s not that interesting a thing to quote verbatim so I will paraphrase. The Tweet that stirred my emotions was a simple one and just said “I am so glad my girlfriend is skinny and not fat.”  Most of the time I would just think ‘well good for you’ (sarcasm font) but this time I actually clicked over to the Tweeter’s page and read some of the other Tweets he had sent. His timeline of Tweets was filled with racist remarks about the president and calling for his assassination. I don’t care who you are or with what party you are aligned, that is incredibly disgusting.  My response Tweet to the original Tweeter simply said “on behalf of fat girls everywhere, we’re okay with it too.”  He replied by calling me fat and telling me my opinion did not matter.

I think what struck me the most about this exchange was how awful his comeback was. I’m referring to MYSELF as fat. I own it. I have claimed it. That shit is mine and has been since middle school.  Throwing it out as a way to try and insult me just shows an extreme lack of insight and imagination on his part.  What are we teaching our young people if not how to properly burn someone in a war of words?  I fear for the future.

really_snl_aigcopy

12 Responses to “Fat Amy before Fat Amy was Fat Amy”

  1. Gina February 20, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    I would say that he deserves to be smacked upside the head, but that would be wrong and someone would tweet that I’m violent and a bad person. I’ll just say that I deeply pity the silly girl with no self-esteem that’s dating him. AND I LOVE YOU!!

    • Amy February 20, 2013 at 12:57 am #

      GINA OMG I LOVE YOU TOO! Thanks for reading dear lady and yes he was a dreamboat and a half.

  2. Lucky Wreck February 20, 2013 at 12:22 am #

    Oh my gosh! I can’t believe someone would act that way! By calling you fat and saying your opinion does not matter, is he trying to say that physical stature has bearing on intellectual abilities? Maybe he is just trying to tell the world that he is ignorant!

    • Amy February 20, 2013 at 12:57 am #

      He was quite a charmer, that is for sure. Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. bensbitterblog February 20, 2013 at 3:46 am #

    I’ve always wanted to be in a twitter fued, but that would require that someone actually respond to my 144 word jems.

    • Amy February 20, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

      I may have made the feud sound more glamorous than it really is but go and START a Twitter feud. Find someone who says something you want to feud about and reply to them and boom, a feud is born.

      • bensbitterblog February 20, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

        Maybe we should start a fake feud and get people follow us and get famous. What do you say?

      • Amy February 20, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

        I am IN. Let’s do this.

      • bensbitterblog February 20, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

        The famous part or the feud? By the way, I loved the movie Pitch Perfect that refers to the title Fat Amy. Me and my family have watched that movie at least 10 times. So if we are going to feud I need your twitter.

  4. MissFourEyes February 20, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

    What a horrible person.

    • Amy February 20, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

      Indeed. Thanks for reading 🙂

  5. JokerSATX March 20, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    My answer to this person is simple. “Well, yes sir, I’m fat. But you’re ignorant, and I can lose weight!”

    I hate having intellectual arguments with an un-armed person.

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

