‘Single Mom’

19 Jan

I refer to myself as a ‘single mom’ because I am divorced from the father of my two boys and I am not in a relationship with anyone as I don’t think imaginary ones really count, which means Zach Galifianakis is not REALLY my boyfriend. This pains me to write as much as it pains you to read, I assure you.

The term ‘single mom’ fits for me if you put it in the parameters above, but that really is about it. I am not a ‘single mom’ in the sense that their dad is not involved. He is very involved and he is a terrific dad. We get along well as people and as parents and we present a united front to the boys. They USUALLY know that there is no pitting us against each other, which is especially helpful as my 11 year old careens into his teens becoming increasingly more strong-willed by the day and my 8 is right on his heels.

As well as getting along with my ex, my boys and I (and my ex too of course) are extremely fortunate to have my ex’s girlfriend in our lives. Not only do I NOT hate her, I really like her, and enjoy her company. I know this is unusual and I’m not writing this to sound like I am bragging. I am writing this because who hasn’t heard horror stories from all sides concerned?  Ex’s hating each other, ex’s hating new significant others, significant others hating the ex’s and on and on and on.

By writing this I hoped to accomplish a couple of things. One, I wanted to explain what I mean when I refer to myself as a ‘single mom’ and two, I wanted to send out to the universe how grateful I am for this situation. It is the absolute best it could be.

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

