Sense from Something Senseless

14 Dec

I was just about to go to bed when I remembered my 8 year old told me to check my wish list on Amazon (it’s just a place where I keep books I want to read) because he ‘added something for me’.

This is what my baby boy put on my list for me. I’m going to order it for myself.

image

Right now he and his brother are asleep in the same bed because my 11 claims my 8 likes it like that (in reality I think it’s the other way around).

We all teach our kids about ‘stranger danger’ and keeping themselves safe in all sorts of situations. How am I supposed to keep my children safe when anybody can walk in and hurt them while they are in school? How do I tell them that there really is good in everybody, when right now I don’t believe it. Not at all. I want to move to a mountaintop and raise alpacas or goats or something and keep them with me forever.

My 11 is like his dad in the sense that he feels compelled to look at a situation from every angle. He wants to watch and read everything he can to try to make sense of things. There is no sense to be made.

Tomorrow I will be taking the boys to Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure for Grinchmas. Life will go on for us, but my heart absolutely breaks thinking about what those involved witnessed and what their families must be going through.

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

