Tradition

21 Nov

Tonight is one of my favorite traditions that I started with the boys probably 7 or 8 years ago. We have a meal that is something close to what they ate at the first Thanksgiving. Did you know a lot of what we think of as ‘traditional Thanksgiving’ food is not really? I didn’t either until I started doing this. I mean, who knew those sweet potatoes with the marshmallows on top were not TOTALLY authentic? Not me.

Anyway, we serve fish, berries, dried fruit, pomegrante (not necessarily authentic but the boys love them), roasted squash, and corn pudding and I read the story of the first Thanksgiving. One year the boys learned that it was tradition for the women to serve the men then stand behind them while they ate, to be available to serve them if they needed anything. They tried to get me to do that once but they were told hell to the no. We’re having the dinner at my ex’s house and I can tell you, his girlfriend  is a saucy one,and she won’t go for that either.

I love this dinner. we talk about what we are thankful for and what it would be like to live during that time and how fortunate we are that we, well, DON’T live during that time. I personally know I would make the worst pilgrim ever.  NOBODY looks good in those outfits.

image

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

