Nothing is Black and White

11 Sep

I remember exactly where I was when I heard about 9/11. I was at the preschool where I worked part-time and had just walked over from my classes at the community college I was attending. My eldest was 5 months old and he was also at the school napping.  I heard about a plane crashing into the world trade center and thought what a terrible accident. Then I heard about the second plane hitting, and the events of the day started to unfold and I was absolutely paralyzed with fear.  I took my son home and while he slept peacefully in his crib I watched all of the coverage non-stop, crying the entire time.

I admit that I am naive. I grew up walking to my grandparent’s house from my elementary school. I talked to everybody and anybody. I had no concept of  ‘stranger danger’. The fact that someone, or a faction of people, could hate ME or Americans in general so much that they could do something so heinous as what happened on 9/11 is still something that I can’t wrap my head around.

I don’t want to get into conspiracy theories or wars. Like probably every other parent in the world some of my biggest concerns are for my children and how in the hell to explain why these things happen.  I tell my children that they can believe whatever they want to believe as long as those beliefs don’t hurt anybody else.  NOTHING is black and white. I don’t want my children to grow up thinking one group of people are just EVIL because I think it’s a dangerous mindset to fall into.

With that being said, I had very mixed feelings upon hearing the news of Bin Laden’s death.  I am pleased that people who were directly affected by 9/11 will perhaps feel a bit of closure, but on the other hand, I am terrified of retaliation. It seems like this is pouring gasoline on a smoldering fire. I’m afraid this will make Bin Laden a martyr to be avenged and it scares the shit out of me.

Like so many things in parenting and life this situation is a hope for the best and prepare for…..the unknown.

 

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

