May the 4th be with You

4 May

I had metal star wars toys when I was about 7 or 8. These things were SO cool and apparently so rare that I can’t even find a picture of them to share their coolness with you.  These ‘action figures’ were a lot less ‘action’ than figures because they were molded metal and didn’t move. They were about 2 inches high and I had all the major characters. Darth Vader, Luke Skywalker, Chewbacca, Han Solo and Princess Leia. I also had a Death Star including a trash compactor room complete with pieces of foam to simulate trash and moving walls.  My mom eventually gave the toys away when I moved out of the house and yes, I held on to those toys until I was 18 years old.  They were the most awesome toys ever and I spent MANY hours playing with them and my Indiana Jones play set also.  I was a girl who loved playing with Barbie dolls as much as playing with my Star Wars toys. Go figure.  Luckily my parents weren’t hung up on ‘gender specific’ or I would have missed out on those awesome toys and probably wouldn’t be who I am today.

My boys are greatly impressed with my Star Wars knowledge and I even own a shirt that says ’12 Parsecs’ on it.  Both of my boys have been Star Wars crazy for many years. When my eldest turned 4 we had a Star Wars themed birthday party. My youngest owns probably every light saber ever made and he owns not one, but two capes. A black one for when he’s playing Darth Vader and a brown one for when he is playing Obi Won Kenobi.

As an adult I am still big into Star Wars, not only through my children, but because I truly do love the movies.  I’m in the minority but I kind of like the back story of Anakin Skywalker. Like I said a few days ago, nothing is black and white (However, I feel totally different about this when it comes to my favorite horror movie, Halloween, but we’ll discuss that another time). I liked learning that the reason Anakin turned to the dark side was that basically he was a disenchanted, power hungry youth trying to save his love.

Here are some awesome, nerd-tastic Star Wars things I covet.

Death Star Cookie Jar  – if only to say ‘these aren’t the cookies you’re looking for’ whenever my ex came over and perused the cabinets for food.

C3pO Backpack Buddy – Yep, I would wear this, oh I don’t know, to the grocery store.  Crossing my fingers that it comes with the wookie fur coat!

Han Solo in carbonite ice cube trays. Oh the love I feel for these is unnatural, but I don’t care.

Tauntaun snuggly. All the warmth of sleeping in a tauntaun with significantly less smell and guts, hopefully.

Leave a Reply

J. A. Allen

Scribbles on Cocktail Napkins

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

sweety5225's Blog

My thoughts about Depression, suicide and living

Mommy Muddling

I'm just a mommy muddling her way through the muck and the mire of parenting and a bunch of other messy stuff like autism, depression, anxiety, faith and more!

materialmermaid

Dive into my ocean

Live Your Life Inspired

A Wholehearted Community

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Letters Of Rejection

I am a writer and an author and a person and a human.

sevenisconceptenterprises

global business and -trade and nations resources control .

Cozy Cottage Clan

The Life of an Accidental Homemaker and Homesteader

Ana Spoke, author

It's time to get hella serious about writing!

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Uncomplicated Hacks

Yes! Life is Simple

